The 101 Association, Inc.
For the preservation and enjoyment of 1928 to 1931 Indian Scout Motocycles
"You can't wear out an Indian Scout"

Hello to the community and my new 101 Scout

• 18 Mar 2021 6:30 AM
    Message # 10209205
    Anonymous

Dear 101 Scout Community,

my name is Max and I am a PhD student from the south of Germany. Yesterday I went to Oldenburg (800km up north) to complete the purchase of THE one bike that I've dreamed of since I first saw it in motion in Las Vegas in 2004. After that I "ran into it" several times, first in the Benjamin Button film from 2008, about a year after that in London and then in the video by Jay Leno that I must have watched more than 100 times since its release in 2014 on Youtube.

Though I had regularly checked the usual online market places in Germany I never came across a Scout that I deemed to be interesting enough to make a move. However about a week ago I saw the inconspicuous ad of the seller and everything appeared to be just as I had hoped to find it some day. After several phone calls back and forth, as well as an exchange of photos/videos on What´s App, I made the purchase without having seen the motorcycle live. Quite a risk I guess but since there were, acc. to the seller, about three other potential buyers, of whom I even know one here from Munich, I just took a leap of faith. Gladly, from my novice-perspective, it was worth it.

The seller (an avid collector of Indian Chiefs) gave me the following information on the 101 Scout:

1) 1928 Export Version

2) Original delivery to Chemnitz Germany (Albert Schuster)

3) From an unknown date until 1992 it was owned by a ship captain from the Hamburg area.

4) From 1992 until yesterday it was owned by a German architect.

5) There are some parts on it, that are not original like the horn, some nuts and bolts, the bag, etc.

6) It received extensive internal and some external work in the early 90s by a well-known person in the German Indian community.