The 101 Association, Inc.
For the preservation and enjoyment of 1928 to 1931 Indian Scout Motocycles
"You can't wear out an Indian Scout"

GPS speedo

• 05 Feb 2022 8:23 AM
    Message # 12576766

I am trying to figure out which GPS handlebar mounted speedo/odometer to use as I’d like to know how far I’ve traveled on a tank of gas.  Randy suggested that a lot of people use them and I thought I’d ask for any suggestions as I’m not very tech savvy and there are many to choose from on the internet.  Any advice or insights would be appreciated.  

Also was curious what the average mpg was?

Thanks for any help. 

Joel

1 file
  • 06 Feb 2022 12:43 AM
    Reply # 12578185 on 12576766
    Anonymous

$25 GPS speedometer, usefull to calibrate

1 file
  • 08 Feb 2022 1:46 PM
    Reply # 12584795 on 12576766

I use a Garmin 130.  It has multiple screen options.  I use the odometer, speed and battery strength options only.  I mount it to the handlebars with a K-edge holder.  I use felt to insure a tight fit for the holder to the handlebars.  The holder stays on the bike.  The garmin is easy twist on and off to be able to charge.  I have not had any trouble with  the holder or the garmin moving or falling off the handlebars.  I have on occasion not paid attention to how well the garmin was charged and been on a ride where I did not have sufficient power. I carry an Energizer Qualcomm 3.0 quick charge and cable for the garmin and my phone.  To date I have not had to use it. 

As I continue to ride the bike, dial it in  and become more confident my plan is go on longer trips.  If necessary I will probably get either a handlebar bag or a bicycle top bar bag  for the energizer battery.

Hope you are enjoying your 101 at least as much as I am mine

• 09 Feb 2022 8:11 PM
    Reply # 12588477 on 12576766
    Tim Raindle (Administrator)