The 101 Association, Inc.
For the preservation and enjoyment of 1928 to 1931 Indian Scout Motocycles
"You can't wear out an Indian Scout"

Oil pump feed line air leak

• 25 Sep 2017 8:34 PM
    Message # 5279183

I have a running EGP 2082 riding it short trips for lack of time. This was a carnival machine purchased 25 years ago. Bottom end done I put the rest together. This bike belongs to member Lindsey Lytle. Being a four cylinder guy and some what a extreme motor builder of the fours this is the first twin I have ever built or worked on. I am a bare essential builder then then I complete it with the correct parts. By chance I put on a clear plastic tube as a feed tube to the oil pump. The oil is left on all the time and never over fills the bottom end.When I run the motor air bubbles are consistently being seen heading back up to oil tank. Would you think this is normal ? What is your idea on what is causing this.

Regards,

Conrad Lytle 

• 25 Sep 2017 11:48 PM
    Reply # 5279421 on 5279183
    Deleted user

Is the connection between the clear plastic line and pump air tight?

Do you bleed air out of the line with the bleed screw?

Is it an early pump (28-30) or the later 31 pump?

• 26 Sep 2017 10:30 AM
    Reply # 5280039 on 5279183

I never tried a clear plastic tube as a feed tube, funny enough never thought about it. Interesting, must try that!

• 27 Sep 2017 5:17 PM
    Reply # 5283162 on 5279183