The 101 Association, Inc.
For the preservation and enjoyment of 1928 to 1931 Indian Scout Motocycles
"You can't wear out an Indian Scout"

101 Starts ok then starts back firing and quits after 2 minutes

• 26 Nov 2017 6:39 PM
    Message # 5602056

Hi Folks,  Im new to this site and my 1929 Indian 101 scout. Its a sweet bike but i can't get it to run.  When its cold i can get it to start and it sounds good but then after 1-2 minutes it starts running on 1 cylinder and backfiring. Im new to this older vintage stuff so it certainly could be something that i don't know about. I much appreciate anyone help.  Mike

• 27 Nov 2017 8:44 AM
    Reply # 5602681 on 5602056
    Anonymous
    Michael Butts wrote:

Hi Folks,  Im new to this site and my 1929 Indian 101 scout. Its a sweet bike but i can't get it to run.  When its cold i can get it to start and it sounds good but then after 1-2 minutes it starts running on 1 cylinder and backfiring. Im new to this older vintage stuff so it certainly could be something that i don't know about. I much appreciate anyone help.  Mike

condenser.

EL-1400

T5965W

Splitdorf Replacement condenser (new capacitor style )

• 28 Nov 2017 9:31 AM
    Reply # 5604302 on 5602056
    Tim Raindle (Administrator)

Could well be the condensor in the mag, they usually take a little longer to warm up and fail tho when they start to go. Check it out, if it is an original one replace it. You can wire a new condensor temporarily in position outside the mag, it just needs to be wired into the feed and earthed.  See if it makes a difference before pulling the mag and stripping it down. New condensors are cheap, Marks Magneto will sell you a couple for a few bucks each.

Also check your manifold seals. Does the bike run on choke well but not idle down on run ? Spraying a little wd40 or cold start around the join will tell you if it is sealed well, as if it changes the running, you have an issue there.

Let us know what you try, and what you find out.