The 101 Association, Inc.
For the preservation and enjoyment of 1928 to 1931 Indian Scout Motocycles
"You can't wear out an Indian Scout"

New owner

• 27 Nov 2022 6:19 AM
    Message # 13003925

G‘day all, ( yes I am from down under ) I have recently entered the vintage motorcycling fraternity with a 29 101 Scout . So happy to have finally got one.It has been fully restored mechanically and am assured that it runs with just the electrical to finish off ( I’m an electrician so not too phased about that) but my main concerne is getting my head around the oil pump before I dare start it! I have the manuals and have read a little about them on the 101 forum and now understand the mechanical function and now almost comfortable to kick it into life. I now know that I will require a test bolt to check correct oiling rate before I take it past the driveway front gate. Now to the point of how often do these pumps require overhaul / refurbishing / checking for correct operation and if there are any periodic checks that should be done to pick up on wearing components before total failure results ? This bike will not be an ornament.                                                                    Cheers   Radish

• 28 Nov 2022 9:03 AM
    Reply # 13004976 on 13003925
    Tim Raindle (Administrator)

Congratulations on your new ride. Pics of you and the bike would be great for the next magazine :) Also maybe a little history of you and the bike ??? Email me and editor Doug Strange.

The oil pump is more correctly an oil metering device, as there is no pressure feed. 

To start with, you should get used to religiously checking the oil level by removing the upper of the two plugs on the left hand lower side of the crankcase. This level plug defines the optimum level of oil to run your motor. Then you need to work out how much your oil pump is delivering, and adjust to your riding style.