The 101 Association, Inc.
For the preservation and enjoyment of 1928 to 1931 Indian Scout Motocycles
"You can't wear out an Indian Scout"

New member, new project, where do I start?

• 22 Apr 2019 10:03 AM
    Message # 7297539
    Deleted user

Greetings,

My great grandfather purchased this indian scout in 1933. He rode it until it was old enough to pass to my grandfather, who rode it throughout the 40's and early 50's. Eventually it got parked in the shed, and only saw light when the shed got cleaned. The bike belongs to my dad, who has tasked me with getting it running. It's our goal to have this bike run to see my grandfather smile. He's getting older and still gets excited to talk about the "ol indian".

A little about my background, I'm 30 years old, I am a professional mechanic with the majority of my background in diesel engine/ medium heavy truck repair. I understand the basics of the engine but this is something that's a whole new undertaking. I would rather not send it to a restorer unless certain machining items are required.

I started by ordering the RO manual, joining this group, and i humbly wait your advice, I know for sure the wiring is all gone, the magneto cap is worn out, the fuel tank is in poor condition, and the engine leaks oil like a sieve, and has one scored cylinder. It's not locked up.

Where do I start?

1 file
  • 23 Apr 2019 9:12 AM
    Reply # 7299302 on 7297539
    Tim Raindle (Administrator)

Hey Matthew, nice bike, welcome to 101 world. The engine number is indeed 1930, looks right for rear fender, which was hinged in 1930. You may also have a frame number on the left rear wheel frame lug, the factory started numbering frames late 1930.