The 101 Association, Inc.
For the preservation and enjoyment of 1928 to 1931 Indian Scout Motocycles
"You can't wear out an Indian Scout"

Building a ‘28 front wheel

<< First  < Prev   1   2   Next >  Last >> 
  • 15 Apr 2020 11:41 AM
    Message # 8901518
    Anonymous

Forgive my ignorance but I’m new to this forum .my recently acquired project bike needed a braked front wheel . Kind supplier Maciek in Poland provided a repro  drum hub and rim spoke set up.

ive spent the last two days off and on trying to lace it together.Is there a simply set of clear instructions anywhere on line that I can refer too.

with all spokes the correct same length I jus5 don’t get it. I always  seem to have 10 spokes sticking thru the rim .

im not a novice as I’ve built norton Bsa Ajs wheels before with no great fuss.

this indian set up has got me stumped.HELP.

• 15 Apr 2020 7:46 PM
    Reply # 8902425 on 8901518

Hi Gordon, I laced one up a short while ago and I followed Tech Tip #14 (go to the members only category here) and you’ll get it done!  Mind you, I did have my “issues” but it's a pretty clear set of instructions.  Of note, I laced up a drop center rim from a European supplier....very nice rim but DO NOT assume it is round!

• 15 Apr 2020 8:31 PM
    Reply # 8902482 on 8901518

Directions from the net is often for HD rims. Indian rims are laced mirror reversed as the drum brake is on the opposite side, best is directions in the R&O but in a pinch, a HD rim picture can be flipped over in a computer. If you put the rim down with the tube hole against the floor, Indian rims has the first forward spoke hole to the left, HD to the right. However, rumour has got to my ears that it has been done before, lace up a HD rim on an Indian and get it close enough. Ugh!

Original there is a difference between front and rear rim tit angles for the spokes, maybe not all that important if that is not on the repro rims and the nipples has room for the lean angle.